About The University of Texas at El Paso

UTEP was founded in 1913 as the Texas School of Mines and Metallurgy, and became a part of The University of Texas System in 1919, joining U.T. Austin and the U.T. Medical Branch in Galveston. In 1949, our name was changed to Texas Western College which we remained until 1967 when our name was again changed to The University of Texas at El Paso (UTEP). Classified as a "Doctoral/Research - Intensive" university within the Carnegie Classification of Institutions of Higher Education, UTEP is nationally recognized for hands-on research experiences afforded graduate and undergraduate students. UTEP offers 81 bachelor's and 72 master's degrees in a broad range of academic fields, and doctoral degrees in geological sciences, computer engineering, pathobiology, materials science and engineering, psychology, environmental science and engineering, and educational leadership and administration.


Current students: Please direct questions about your lessons, quizzes, assignments, and other course materials to your instructor or course administrator. You can use the course discussion areas for this purpose.

If you have questions about accessing the online classroom, retrieving your lessons, changing your password, correcting your e-mail address, obtaining progress reports or completion letters, receiving an extension, or any other administrative tasks, visit our Help page.

New or potential students: If you have questions about course content, prerequisites, requirements, follow-ups, or instructors, you'll find the information you need by locating the courses that interest you. Click the course title to review the course details.

If you require any assistance with registration, please contact:

The University of Texas at El Paso
Professional & Public Programs
Sylvia Monsisvais
101 W. Robinson
Memorial Gym, Rm. 111
El Paso, TX 79968
Phone: (915) 747-7578
Fax: (915) 747-5538
 Close Nav

Forgot Password?